The Most Important Lesson Schools Can Teach Kids About Reading: It’s Fun

See on Scoop.itK-12 School Libraries

Yes, strong literacy skills help students get good grades and, eventually, good jobs. But schools shouldn’t forget to emphasize the joy of getting lost in a book.

Susan Grigsby‘s insight:

While I wholeheartedly agree with this blog post about instilling a LOVE for reading as an absolute essential, I have issue with Arne Duncan’s mandate to public schools to "greatly accelerate the rate of progress" and the "urgent moral and economic imperative that our schools do a better job…" 

As articles I’ve scooped earlier this month point out, POVERTY is behind the achievement gap. We have a majority of impoverished children in public schools for the first time. I believe in allowing students to "get lost in a book" but I also understand that I am sometimes fighting a very difficult battle if those students are worried about their next meal, if they’re going to be evicted, or living on their own because the parent(s) are working. That’s just something I will keep in my back pocket as I work to implement this "most important" lesson.

See on www.theatlantic.com

Leave a Reply

